top of page

The 2024 Irish Drift Championship: Celebrating 20 Years of Thrilling Competition and National Pride!


Cork, Ireland - March 20, 2024

The excitement is real as the Irish Drift Championship (IDC) proudly unveils its exhilarating lineup for the 2024 season. As we gear up for another adrenaline-fueled journey across Ireland's iconic landscapes, we also celebrate a significant milestone – the 20th anniversary of competitive Irish drifting, a testament to the nation's enduring passion for motorsport and professional drifting.

Championship Overview:

The 2024 Irish Drift Championship promises to be a showcase of unparalleled talent and adrenaline-fueled action. Spanning five rounds, the championship will take competitors and fans on an unforgettable journey across the country, celebrating two decades of thrilling drift battles and highlighting the next wave of Irish talent to a world audience.

Championship Schedule:

1. Round 1: Japfest

o Date: April 27th & 28th, 2024

o Venue: Mondello Park, Donore, Naas, Co Kildare.

2. Round 2: Kartworld Watergrasshill

o Date: May 25th & 26th, 2024

o Venue: Adventure Park, Kartworld, Watergrasshill, Co Cork.

3. Round 3: Mondello Park

o Date: June 29th & 30th, 2024

o Venue: Mondello Park, Donore, Naas, Co Kildare.

4. Round 4: To Be Confirmed (TBC)

o Date: TBC

o Venue: TBC

5. Round 5: 360 Motorsport Park

o Date (PRO 2): September 7th & 8th, 2024

o Date (PRO): September 21st & 22nd, 2024

o Venue: Kilflynn, Co Kerry.

A 2024 Irish Champion:

Since its first competitive event in 2004, Irish Drifting has grown from a grassroots movement into a globally recognized phenomenon, putting Ireland firmly on the map in the world of drifting. The championship has nurtured local talent, many of whom have gone on to compete and dominate on the international stage. The 2024 season is a testament to this enduring legacy and the passionate community that has supported it through the years.

In each round of the championship, drivers will navigate a mix of precision driving, twin-drift action, and intense competition, vying to secure their place among the esteemed list of former Irish champions and ultimately claim the title of the 2024 Irish Drift Champion.

2004 Damien Mulvey (D1 Drift Series IRL)

2005 Damien Mulvey (D1 Drift Series IRL)

2006 Darren McNamara (Prodrift Series)

2007 Eric O Sullivan (Prodrift Series)

2008 James Deane (Prodrift Series)

2009 Mike Deane (Prodrift Series)

2010 James Deane (Prodrift Series)

2011 Alan Sinnott (Prodrift Series)

2012 Brendan Stone (Prodrift Series)

2013 James Deane (Irish Drift Championship)

2014 Duane McKeever (Irish Drift Championship)

2015 James Deane (Irish Drift Championship)

2016 Duane McKeever (Irish Drift Championship)

2017 Jack Shanahan (Irish Drift Championship)

2018 Duane McKeever (Irish Drift Championship)

2019 Jack Shanahan (Irish Drift Championship)

2020 Kevin Quinn (Irish Drift Series)

2021 Darragh Spencer (Irish Drift Championship)

2022 Tomas Kiely (Irish Drift Championship)

2023 Chris Brady (Irish Drift Championship)

Who will be crowned the coveted 2024 Irish Drift Champion?

Kieran Hynes, Championship Director of IDC, shared his enthusiasm for the upcoming season:

The 20th anniversary of the Irish Drift Championship is not just a celebration of the sport but a tribute to the community that has made it all possible. We're honouring our roots while looking forward to an even more thrilling future for Irish drifting. This season is for every fan, participant, and partner who has been with us on this incredible journey.
As we celebrate 20 years of competitive Irish drifting, the 2024 Irish Drift Championship promises to be a landmark season, showcasing the evolution of our sport and the exceptional talent within our ranks. From the grassroots level to the professional circuit, the IDC has been instrumental in nurturing the next generation of Irish drift stars. We invite fans from across the country to join us in celebrating this milestone and witnessing the unparalleled excitement of Irish drifting.

Join the Conversation:

Stay up-to-date with all the latest news, updates, and behind-the-scenes action from the 2024 Irish Drift Championship by following us on social media. Join the conversation and share your excitement using the hashtag #IDC2024.


For media inquiries or additional information, please contact:

Kieran Hynes

IDC Director

Irish Drift Championship

532 views0 comments